You’ve probably noticed that we’re big fans of writing over here at We Are Cardiff. We presume some of you are as well. You might even be writers, or just want time to spend on your writing. So … it’s not in Cardiff … but if you need an excuse to head into the incredible countryside of north west Wales, and want some time to focus on your writing, Ty Newydd is the perfect spot.

Ty Newydd Gwynedd

The creative writing centre is run by Literature Wales, and features a series of courses, workshops and retreats throughout the year. Ty Newydd is a pretty sweet place to focus on your work … and Criccieth isn’t bad, either!

The courses for this year cover everything from poetry, to non-fiction memoir, to young adult mythology. View all Ty Newydd’s courses on their site (or scroll to the bottom of this article to go through them all).

We Are Cardiff have signed up for the Yoga and Writing class taking place at the end of July: a three day course that combines two creative practices that energise one another: yoga, plus writing. There will also be meditation, breathing, and movement with writing exercises, added to some Hindu mythology and free time to write in the blissful surroundings of Tŷ Newydd. We are very excited to meet guest reader Vivienne Rickman-Poole, photographer, film maker and outdoor swimmer who lives in Snowdonia: we’ve been following her #swimsnowdonia project for some time now (and hoping she’s going to take us for an outdoor dip!)

If you love the idea of attending a course at Ty Newydd, but aren’t sure you can afford it, Ty Newydd also offer bursaries and financial support for people to attend. Find out more: Ty Newydd financial support

Ty Newydd – course list for 2017

Yoga and Writing: The Sun in the Self
Mon 31 Jul – Fri 04 Aug 2017
Tutor / Siân Melangell Dafydd
Guest Readers / Amali Rodrigo, Vivienne Rickman-Poole

Poetry: Working the Body
Mon 07 Aug – Sat 12 Aug 2017
Tutors / Andrew McMillan, Helen Mort
Guest Reader / Jonathan Edwards

Non-fiction and life-writing: from editing to publishing
Mon 21 Aug – Sat 26 Aug 2017
Tutors / Alex Clark, Arifa Akbar
Guest Reader / Jasmine Donahaye

Writing Poems
Mon 28 Aug – Sat 02 Sep 2017
Tutors / Deryn Rees-Jones, George Szirtes
Guest Reader / Ian McMillan

Literature from the Land
Mon 04 Sep – Sat 09 Sep 2017
Tutors / Angharad Wynne, Jay Griffiths

Poetry: Transforming Trauma
Mon 11 Sep – Sat 16 Sep 2017
Tutors / Karen McCarthy Woolf, Pascale Petit
Guest Reader / Malika Booker

Out of the Shell: Writing and Making Art
Mon 02 Oct – Sat 07 Oct 2017
Tutors / Annie Freud, Pamela Robertson-Pearce
Guest Reader / Imtiaz Dharker

Fiction and Poetry for YA: Myth and Folk Tale
Mon 16 Oct – Sat 21 Oct 2017
Tutors / Catherine Fisher, Kevin Crossley-Holland
Guest Reader / Katherine Langrish

Memoir, People, Place: How to Write Dazzling Non-fiction
Mon 23 Oct – Sat 28 Oct 2017
Tutors / Horatio Clare, Jon Gower
Guest Reader / Lucy Hughes-Hallett

Autumn Poetry Masterclass
Mon 30 Oct – Sat 04 Nov 2017
Tutors / Gillian Clarke, Maura Dooley
Guest Reader / Jonathan Edwards

How to Enjoy Poetry
Mon 06 Nov – Sat 11 Nov 2017
Tutors / Hollie McNish, Will Burns
Guest Reader / Luke Wright

Writing for Health and Wellbeing
Mon 13 Nov – Sat 18 Nov 2017
Tutors / Graham Hartill, Victoria Field

More beautiful images of gorgeous Criccieth:

#wales #walescoast #coastalpath #criccieth #cricciethcastle #cricciethbeach

A post shared by David John Beggan (@dbeggan) on

***

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *